Working on an Article for a Magazine

A place for discussing real-life community building and media engagements.
gypsygrrl420

Working on an Article for a Magazine

Postby gypsygrrl420 » Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:16 am

Hi guys!

I'm working on an article about asexuality for a magazine right now, and I am completely stuck. I'm focusing on educating readers on what asexuality actually is (this magazine focuses on sexual health -- in fact, its called exactly that, lol) and some of the struggles those of us on the spectrum experience in discussing our orientation with the general public. (As I stated when I introduced myself, I work in the adult retail industry. Basically, I work in a high end sex shop. So the topic of my orientation comes up, frequently.)

If anyone cares to share any anecdotes about sharing their orientation with others, and reactions to their coming out, I will be more than happy to try working them into my article (no real names necessary, of course.)

Thanks!

Rai

CatBunny

Re: Working on an Article for a Magazine

Postby CatBunny » Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:25 pm

I tend to tell people I know very, very well. Once it got out to someone I didn't know and I basically tried never discussing it again... Its always the same replies "do you have a fetish then? It must be nice not marrying/having sex/dating/having a sex drive? (even though I'm completely capable of that haha) Oh I relate, I hate relationships! etc. etc." I used to be more liberal with what I said but I realized It just feels weird, not only repeating yourself but also making yourself look like you're obsessed with one trait when there's more to myself (my mom especially poking fun at me over it and she is right in that aspect. I got more things to talk about besides being ace).