Hi there

Introduce yourself to the community here.
A_Curious

Hi there

Postby A_Curious » Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:11 am

Hi, I'm a PhD student, studying the meaning of asexuality in contemporary society. Recently, I undertook a qualitative literature review of 10 qualitative and 2 mixed methods published studies, and analysed the narratives of self identified asexuals within these studies, to come up with what research would suggest are some features of an asexual identity. If I post the findings from my analysis of the qualitative research data to date would anyone be willing to comment on them, either agree with them or disagree, I don't mind? Its a just to get some sense of how accurate the analysis has been. Thanks, Catriona

KAGU143
Administrator

Re: Hi there

Postby KAGU143 » Fri Aug 05, 2016 11:06 am

Welcome to Apositive, Catriona.

Of course! Publish away!
We don't have a lot of active members, but the ones that we do have are generally very helpful and I'm sure they will be willing to offer some input.
I will definitely help, and I think my husband will also, if I point it out to him. (We are both asexual and have been involved with asexual visibility for many years.)
If you can't say something nice, don't say anything at all.

A_Curious

Postby A_Curious » Sat Aug 06, 2016 12:05 am

That's brilliant thanks very much. So these are the 3 themes which have emerged from the data, which I feel may be features of the asexual identity. They are based on interview data from 12 studies (10 qual, 2 mixed methods). Feel free to be brutally honest about them. I won't be offended. Thanks so much. By the way, the paper I am hoping to publish from this work is a paper which promotes a need for culturally competent care in the context of asexuality. Here we go;