Hey (or: In which I ramble and attempt to introduce myself)

Introduce yourself to the community here.
VicariousWonder

Hey (or: In which I ramble and attempt to introduce myself)

Postby VicariousWonder » Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:55 pm

I only just happened to stumble across this forum today. I'm new to the whole Ace scene, largely because I didn't understand how broad and varied it was. I wish i'd discovered it much earlier because it would have saved me a lot of years wondering what was wrong with me (at least under what society deemed "normal"). I just turned 19, and am really struggling with how to explain why I am the way I am to my friends. To backtrack, i've never felt the things they all said they felt when it came to sex. I have no issues with the act itself, in fact, I hope i'm lucky enough to find someone i'm sexually attracted to one day because, after all the hype it's been given, my expectations of it are pretty damn high :).

Anyway, I don't get crushes on people. Well, very rarely, and they're never sexual. In fact, i've never had a sex dream. Innocent kissing ones, sure, but those were mostly when I felt pressured by the people around me to be more, ahem, practiced than I was. The thought of banging an attractive guy doesn't get me all hot and bothered. You know when you're watching a hospital show on t.v. and they show the heart rate monitor right at that dramatic moment when the patient is about to die tragically until the doctor miraculously pulls the cure out of his or her ass and saves the day? Yeah, that pretty much describes my physical reaction in sexual situations. Not the almost dying part, obviously, but the utter and total lack of spark. My palms don't sweat, my kneed don't tremble. I don't picture you naked, nor do I picture myself naked with you. My pupils don't dilate and my head doesn't spin. I always considered myself lucky that my body didn't betray in my interactions with the opposite sex. Well, I'm pretty sure now I know why.